Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society rep Gai Conan (center) presented the Society’s scholarships to Zarina Mitchell, Taylynn Eustache, and Grace Kempter; and the Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society bursaries to Pamela LeFeuvre, Samantha Jones, Sara Sabyan, Rebecca Quiding, Cody McGunigle, Brooke Hartman, Natalie Shearsmith, and Matlock Brown. (Jill Hayward photo)

Barriere Class of 2019 receives $76,000 in scholarships and bursaries

Thirty students in the Barriere Secondary Class of 2019 participated in graduation ceremonies on Friday, May 24, in the Barriere Curling Rink.

This list of scholarships and bursaries handed out totaled $76,000 thanks to the generosity of numerous supporters of youth in the area.

• Barriere AG Foods Bursary – Brooke Hartman

• Barriere Auto Parts Bursary – Kurt Young

• Barriere Bursary Society Academic Bursary – Samantha Jones

• Barriere Bursary Society Technical Bursary – Grace Kempter

• Barriere Chamber of Commerce – Pamela LeFeuvre

• Barriere Emergency Services (BES) – Katie McInnes, Kurt Young

• Barriere Motor Inn Bursary – Irene Beeton

• Barriere Secondary PAC Academic Scholarship – Zarina Mitchel

• Barriere Secondary PAC Service Scholarship – Emma Hamblin

• Barriere Secondary PAC Athletic Scholarship – Taylynn Eustache

• Barriere Secondary PAC Trades & Technology Scholarship – Kurt Young

• Barriere Secondary PAC Council’s Choice Scholarship – Pamela LeFeuvre

• Barriere Smoke Eaters Bursary – Irene Beeton

• Bea Mitchell Memorial Award – Zarina Mitchell

• Clearwater Dental Clinic Bursary Samantha Jones

• Danny Proulx Memorial Scholarship – Pamela Lefeuvre

• David Stamer Memorial Bursary – Emma Rae Hamblin

• Gilbert Smith Forest Products Scholarship – Taylynn Eustache

• Interior Plumbing and Heating – Cody McGunigle

•Jonathan Linteris Memorial Bursary – Katie McInnes

• Kamloops Blazers Scholarship & Education Society Award – Kurt Young

• Kamloops Honda Bursary – Pamela LeFeuvre

• Kamloops/Thompson Principals & Vice-Principals Association Award – Taylynn Eustache

• Kamloops/Thompson Teachers’ Association Award – Katie McInnes

• Kurt Genier Memorial Art Bursary – Matlock Brown

• Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society Scholarship – Zarina Mitchell, Taylynn Eustache, and Grace Kempter

• Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society Bursary – Pamela LeFeuvre, Samantha Jones, Sara Sabyan, Rebecca Quiding, Cody McGunigle, Brooke Hartman, Natalie Shearsmith, and Matlock Brown

• Monte Carlo Motel – Brooke Hartman

Nicky Grummett Scholarships – Zarina Mitchell, and Kurt Young

• North Thompson Fall Fair & Rodeo Association Bursary – Grace Kempter

• North Thompson Star/Journal Bursary – Rebecca Quiding

• North Thompson Valley Royal Canadian Legion 242 Bursary – Pamela Lefeuvre, Rebecca Quiding, and Cody McGunigle

• Simpcw First Nations Bursary – Taylynn Eustache

• Stamer Logging Scholarship – Katie McInnes, Samantha Jones

• TRU Entrance Scholarship – Taylynn Eustache, Brooke Hartman

Vera Gourley Bursary – Emma Rae Hamblin

Vera Gourley Scholarship – Grace Kempter

The following eight graduates also received gold cords which recognize graduates who have maintained honour roll standings:

Taylynn Eustache, Brooke Hartman, Samantha Jones, Cody McGunigle, Katie McInnes, Zarina Mitchell, Casaundra Pedersen, and Rebecca Quiding

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

A second wave of COVID-19 is probable, if history tells us anything

B.C.’s top doctor says that what health officials have learned this round will guide response in future

Upper Clearwater naturalist helps name national lichen

The votes are in for Canada’s proposed national lichen and the Star-tipped… Continue reading

Celebrations continue for Tsilhqot’in Nation after court victory against Taskeo Mines Ltd.

Supreme Court of Canada upholds 2014 decision rejecting New Prosperity mine on May 14, 2020

38 ladies had plenty of room to social distance

A couple of years ago hubby and I purchased 600 (yes, 600)… Continue reading

Invasive Mussel Defence program launches in B.C.

Boat inspection stations are now open at various locations throughout the province… Continue reading

LIVE: Procession to honour Snowbirds Capt. Jennifer Casey comes to Halifax

Snowbirds service member died in a crash in Kamloops one week ago

RCMP facing ‘systemic sustainability challenges’ due to provincial policing role

Provinces, territories and municipalities pay anywhere from 70 to 90 per cent of the cost of the RCMP’s services

One man dead after standoff with Chilliwack RCMP

The Independent Investigations Office of B.C. is investigating the RCMP’s role in the death

B.C. employers worry about safety, cash flow, second wave in COVID-19 restart

A survey found 75 per cent of businesses worry about attracting customers

Ex-BC Greens leader Andrew Weaver says province came close to early election

Disagreement centred on the LNG Canada project in northern B.C.

Canada’s NHL teams offer options to season-ticket holders

Canadian teams are offering refunds, but also are pushing a number of incentives to let them keep the money

B.C. premier says lessons to learn from past racism during response to pandemic

B.C. formally apologized in the legislature chamber in 2008 for its role in the Komagata Maru tragedy

Snowbirds to remain at Kamloops Airport indefinitely after fatal crash

small contingent of the Snowbirds team is staying in Kamloops, acting as stewards of the jets

Oak Bay man stumbles upon eagle hunting seal, grabs camera just in time

The eagle did ‘a perfect butterfly stroke to shore’ with its prey, photographer says

Most Read