Skip to content

Barriere Secondary School class of 2024 awards

Barriere Secondary School scholarships and bursaries were awarded to many students at the grad ceremony on June 14

Barriere Secondary School scholarships and bursaries were awarded to many students on the evening of the graduation ceremony held at the Barriere Curling Arena at the North Thompson Fall Fair grounds on June 14, 2024. 

Parents, caregivers, friends, school staff, honoured guests and local officials gathered to honour the graduates in the beautifully decorated arena as the grads entered in their blue and white caps and gowns. 

A quote by Roy T. Bennett at the top of the graduation ceremony program read "Believe in yourself. You are braver than you think, more talented than you know, and capable of more than you imagine." It was a very positive message to the seniors about to embark on a new journey following high school. 

The master of ceremonies, Barriere Secondary vice principal Andres Ruberg, and the procession of students walked into the songs "Life is a Highway" by Tom Cochrane and Nelly Furtado's '"I'm Like a Bird". Following "O Canada" — performed by the Barriere Elementary and Secondary School String Ensemble — the Simpcw First Nation Drum Group presented an inspiring honour song and a blessing read in Secwépemcstin spoken by Rae Bowser and BSS graduate Cassidy Calahasen.

Greetings were given by the superintendent for School District #73, Dr. Rhonda Nixon; Barriere mayor Ward Stamer; Rhonda Kershaw, the vice-chair of SD 73's Board of Education; Elder Barbara Rhoades from the Two Rivers Métis Society; and Simpcw First Nation councillor Tina Donald. 

Barriere Secondary principal John Tyler gave his final speech of the year, addressing the Class of 2024 with humour, emotion and words of advice. 

The following are a list of the 2024 scholarships, bursaries and awards announced on June 14 during the graduation ceremony, which also included students being presented with their commencement certificates, followed by the valedictorian address given by graduate Ava Jules. Ruberg concluded with closing remarks and the countdown to the traditional cap toss by grads as the crowd applauded and snapped photos of caps thrown high into the air.

Barriere AG foods Bursaries: Kallen Ross, Gaven Eustache, Deborah Hernandez, Kaydence Kolodiazny

Barriere Bursary Society Academic Bursaries (Barriere Lions Club): Fraser Shilling, Bobby-Raye Farrow, Cassidy Calahasen, Teagen Beeton

Barriere Bursary Society Technical Bursary (Barriere Lions Club): Alexis Nelson

Barriere Chamber of Commerce: Alexis Nelson

Barriere Fire Fighter Association: Bobby-Raye Farrow

Barriere Secondary PAC Scholarships

Fine Arts: Caydence Ewart

Trades: Alexis Nelson, Teagen Beeton

Athletics: Fraser Schilling, Bobby-Raye Farrow

PAC Select: Cohen Hunt, Cassidy Calahasen

Clearwater Dental Clinic Bursary: Teagen Beeton

Danny Proulx memorial Scholarship: Cohen Hunt

David Stamer Memorial Bursary: Alexis Nelson

Fleetwest Enterprises Ltd.: Alexis Nelson

Gilbert Smith Forest Products: Gaven Eustache

Interior Plumbing & Heating: Alexis Nelson

Interior Savings Credit Union: Fraser Schilling, Gaven Eustache, Caydence Ewert, Alexis Nelson, Cohen Hunt, Bobby-Raye Farrow, Cole Harris

Jack Watson: Fraser Schilling, Alexis Nelson

Kamloops Blazers Scholarship & Education Society Award: Fraser Schilling

Kamloops Honda Bursary: Cassidy Calahassen, Gaven Eustache is the Alternate

Kamloops/Thompson Principals & Vice Principals Association Award: Teagen Beeton

Kamloops/Thompson Teachers’ Association Award: Bobby-Raye Farrow

Lower North Thompson Catholic Woman League Bursary: Cohen Hunt

Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society Scholarships: Gaven Eustache, Cassidy Calihassen, Teagen Beeton, Cohen Hunt, Fraser Shilling, Alexis Nelson, Bobby-Raye Farrow, Kallen Ross, Lily Elliot, Caydence Ewert

Nicky Grummett Scholarships: Cohen Hunt, Alexis Nelson

North Thompson Communities Foundation: Cohen Hunt

North Thompson Fall Fair & Rodeo Association Bursary: Bobby-Raye Farrow

North Thompson Star/Journal Bursary: Caydence Ewert

North Thompson Valley Royal Canadian Legion Branch #242 Bursaries: Bobby-Raye Farrow, Gaven Eustache, Teagen Beeton

North Thompson Valley Royal Canadian Legion Branch Ladies Auxiliary: Caydence Ewert, Gaven Eustache

Yellowhead Community Services Society Bursary: Gaven Eustache, Cohen Hunt

Women of St. Paul Bursaries: Debbie Hernandez, Lilly Elliot

Vera Gourley Bursary: Cohen Hunt (Cassidy Calahassen, alternate) and Fraser Shilling (Gavin Eustache, alternate)