Darby Ewashina

Darby Ewashina

Barriere’s Darby Ewashina receives Tarrant Scholarship

Since its inception in 2004, the Tarrant scholarship has been awarded to 29 medical students and provided over $250,000

On Tuesday, Oct. 7, the Alberta Medical Association’s (AMA’s) Section of Rural Medicine presented the Tarrant Scholarship to two Alberta medical students. The ceremony took place at the University of Alberta Faculty Club (11435 Saskatchewan Drive) in Edmonton.

In its 11th year, the Tarrant Scholarship is awarded to third-year medical students from the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary who have demonstrated a strong interest in focusing their medical career and undergraduate studies on rural medicine and related issues. As one of Alberta’s largest unrestricted medical school undergraduate awards, the scholarship provides a full year’s tuition for both recipients.

The 2014 Tarrant Scholarship recipients are University of Alberta medical student Adam Mildenberger from Beaverlodge AB, and University of Calgary medical student Darby Ewashina from Barriere, B.C.

Darby Ewashina grew up in Barriere and participated in many sports and outdoor activities through her childhood, enjoying the active, community-focused life of a small centre. For her undergraduate studies in Cellular, Molecular and Microbiology, Darby attended Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops. Initially leaning towards a career in veterinary medicine, a volunteer stint as a physician assistant in Guatemala influenced Darby to pursue her medical degree. “There’s a sense of cohesiveness and community that comes with smaller towns,” says Darby, who plans to acquire advanced skills training in emergency medicine and addictions medicine, and apply these skills one day in a rural community practice.

“We always have strong candidates for this scholarship and this year is no exception,” said Dr. Tobias N.M. Gelber, President, AMA Section of Rural Medicine. “There are ongoing concerns with the current state of health care in rural Alberta so it’s reassuring and heartening to see the rural commitment of these bright, young and talented medical students.

Like the Tarrant scholarship winners who preceded them, Darby and Adam will be true assets to the rural communities in which they may choose to practice medicine.”

The scholarship is named in honour of the late Dr. Michael Tarrant, a Calgary family physician who championed rural medical undergraduate education.

Since its inception in 2004, the Tarrant scholarship has been awarded to 29 medical students and provided over $250,000.

More information about the Tarrant Scholarship is available at www.albertadoctors.org.