It’s Election Day in Barriere: Here’s everything you need to know

Watch for coverage tonight

The next reign of local leaders are expected to be named Saturday night, as Barriere 2022 municipal election gets underway.

Municipalities, regional districts and school districts hold elections every four (4) years. The district of Barriere’s council consists of one (1) mayor, and six (6) councillors.

Ward Stamer has been elected by acclamation in Barriere.

Stamer was on Barriere’s first council as an incorporated community and first became mayor in 2018.

Who you can vote for:

Councillor candidate nominees include: Judy Armstrong, Marguerite Dodds, Alan Fortin, Scott Kershaw, Rob Kerslake, Donna Kibble, Louise Lodge, Lance Naylor, Colin McInnis, Michele Rutschke, Amanada Sabyan and Debbie Sherman.

Where you can vote:

Polls are open Oct. 15 at “the Ridge,” 4936 Barriere Town Road, Barriere B.C., from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

For Elections FAQ page for questions like what kind of identification to bring, click here.

The candidate for Area O Thomspon Nicola Regional District, Jill Hayward, was elected by acclamation.

School District 73 Area 3 candidate Rhonda Kershaw was also elected by acclamation.

What happens once polls close?

After 8 p.m. local time, election officials will begin counting and tallying the ballots.

Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results once polls close.


Election 2022

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up