Kathleen Karpuk (centre) is the new chair of the Kamloops-Thompson school board. Photograph By Michael Potestio/KTW

Karpuk is the new chair of the Kamloops-Thompson school district

Veteran trustee acclaimed after no challengers emerged at inaugural meeting

Michael Potestio

Kamloops This Week

The next chair and vice-chair of the Kamloops-Thompson school board were chosen without any opposition at the inaugural meeting Monday.

Kamloops trustee Kathleen Karpuk, who was elected to her fourth term in October, was acclaimed as the new chair, as was new vice-chair Rhonda Kershaw who begins her third term as Barriere/Little Fort trustee.

Karpuk was nominated by outgoing chair Meghan Wade, who despite indicating her intention last month to seek the position, decided she wouldn’t, opting instead to spend more time with family this term.

Karpuk nominated Kershaw as vice-chair. Each will serve one-year terms before the positions are again up for grabs.

Karpuk said she was humbled by the acclamation.

“It means a lot to me that I have the trust of my colleagues to lead them for this next year,” Karpuk told KTW following the meeting.

Karpuk advised the board of a busy year ahead, noting the need to address the empty Westwold elementary and continued implementation of the five-year strategic plan.

Interest in challenging Wade as board chair had been apparent leading up to the meeting as both Karpuk and newly elected trustee John O’Fee were considering the position.

Karpuk said she had several people approach her and ask her if she would run, citing her experience and “level-headedness.”

Second-term trustee Joe Small, who acknowledged having a tense relationship with Wade, told KTW in October he would nominate O’Fee if he wanted the position.

O’Fee opted not to pursue the chair.

O’Fee said it didn’t seem like an appropriate time to seek the position.

“When you’re new to the board, I think people [need] to get to know you,” he said, noting when he was last a trustee, he served two terms before becoming chair.

Small said Karpuk has plenty of experience on the board and feels she will do a great job.

Wade said that experience is the reason she nominated Karpuk.

“She knows the district, she knows the people,” Wade said.

School board representatives to the B.C. School Trustees’ Association and the B.C. Public School Employers’ Association were also chosen at the inaugural meeting, which yielded the lone vote of the night.

Kershaw nominated Clearwater trustee Shelley Sim, who was named the board’s BCSTA representative by acclamation, but the BCPSEA representative position came down to O’Fee versus Kershaw.

Sim nominated Kershaw and Chase trustee Diane Jules nominated O’Fee. Ultimately, Kershaw was voted in as the board’s BCSEA emissary by majority vote.

At the onset of the meeting, B.C. Supreme Court Justice Dev Dley addressed the new board and administered the oath of office.

School District 73’s new board consists of three new trustees — John O’Fee, Heather Grieve and Diane Jules — re-elected trustees Meghan Wade, Joe Small and Kathleen Karpuk and acclaimed incumbent trustees Rhonda Kershaw, Cara McKelvey and Shelley Sim.

Just Posted

B.C. Interior free from measles

Vancouver measles outbreak hasn’t spread to the B.C. Interior

Skijoring gets your “giddyup” going in Clearwater

By Dawn McCormick The second annual Skijoring event took place at the… Continue reading

Veteran Welcome Program instigated by Legion

Members of the Barriere Legion Branch 242 recently announced that the Legion… Continue reading

Check out the banned books at the Barriere Library

Barriere Head Librarian, Pam Rudd, tells that this year is the 35th… Continue reading

Meet Alice at the upcoming Mad Hatter Tea Party

On Mar. 9, 2019, a certain young lady named Alice will be… Continue reading

Sell regulated heroin to curb B.C.’s overdose problem: report

B.C. Centre on Substance Use points to organized crime and money-laundering as contributing factors

Man charged in stabbing of woman, off-duty cop outside B.C. elementary school

Manoj George, 49, is facing two counts of aggravated assault and two counts of assault with a weapon after the incident on Wednesday, Feb. 20.

Why do zebras have stripes? Perhaps to dazzle away flies

Researchers from University of Bristol look into why zebras have stripes

Poll: More voters believe Canada doing worse under Trudeau government

22 per cent believed the country is doing better and 27 per cent said things are the same

HBC shuttering Home Outfitters across Canada

North America’s oldest retailer is revamping its various stores to improve profitability

BC SPCA investigates Okanagan woman with prior animal abuse convictions

BC SPCA is investigating a property near Vernon

Man wanted for sex trafficking, confinement may be heading to B.C.

Kevin Myrthil, 26, is also accused of assault on a 19-year-old woman at an Edmonton hotel

Northern B.C. train derailment due to broken axle could happen again: TSB

CN coal train derailment caused by broken axle can happen again without a different way to inspect

Former B.C. fire chief sues his city after termination

Keith Green’s civil claim says that he believes he was wrongfully terminated

Most Read