Milobar new chair of TRHD

Milobar new chair of TRHD, $21 TRHD tax increase per residential household

The Thompson Regional Hospital District board of directors has elected Peter Milobar (City of Kamloops) as the new chair, and Ronaye Elliott, director for Electoral Area J (Copper Desert Country) as the acting chair.

Milobar is the mayor of Kamloops while Elliott is a former resident of Avola and was at one time the Thompson Nicola Regional District director for Area B (Thompson Headwaters).

“I’m honored and appreciate the Board’s support,” said Milobar of accepting the position by acclamation. “And I’m looking forward to working with Interior Health and the province on all the upcoming projects towards the betterment of health services in the region.”

Also on Dec. 22 the TRHD approved the 2012 provisional budget. Total expenditures for 2012 have been budgeted at $16.5 million, which is up approximately $1.7 million from 2011. Included in the 2012 expenditures is funding for Medical Device Reprocessing at Royal Inland Hospital. The 2012 residential tax rate for the TRHD will increase an average of $21 per residential household assessment.

The increase in the tax rate is part of a strategy to build up a down-payment towards the construction of the Royal Inland Hospital’s Surgical Patient Care Tower and the Columbia Street Health Services Building. These two projects are expected to cost approximately $400 million.

The average tax rate will increase from $21 per residential household to $127 by 2014 to help offset these costs.

The TRHD also approved a bylaw for cost-sharing ($837,424 of $2,093,560) with Interior Health for minor equipment in facilities within Kamloops (RIH), Ashcroft, Clearwater, Lillooet and Merritt. Each fall Interior Health presents a list of minor equipment that they would like the TRHD to cost share at 40 per cent with.

Thompson Regional Hospital District’s boundary is similar to the Thompson-Nicola Regional District’s but not the same. It includes portions of Columbia-Shuswap and Squamish-Lillooet regional districts.



Just Posted

This bird’s eye view shows the tanker truck fire on Highway 24. (Photo taken by Kurtis Rainer)
UPDATE: Highway 24 open to single-lane traffic after fuel tanker fire

Driver pulled into the runaway lane after the truck wheels caught fire

Residents line up outside the Vernon Recreation Complex for their COVID-19 vaccine Saturday, June 5. (Jennifer Smith - Morning Star)
No appointments necessary for first dose COVID-19 vaccine: Interior Health

People can just show up at clinics, register on the spot and get the shot

(TNRD Library)
Let the mystery of the Summer Reading Club begin

Are you ready to ‘Crack the Case’ at the Barriere Library?

(Metro Creative photo)
Gardeners of all ages invited to enter 2021 NT Fall Fair contests

The North Thompson Fall Fair Drive Thru scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 4,… Continue reading

Milsom Lodge was built in the East Barriere Valley when the Milsom brothers purchased two parcels of land in 1911, DL 2323 and DL2324. (Milsom’s photo)
The Milsom Lodge: The mansion, the ballroom, the history

“At the turn of the century, when so many families were leaving… Continue reading

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau participates in a plenary session at the G7 Summit in Carbis Bay, England on Friday June 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Canada donating 13M surplus COVID-19 vaccine doses to poor countries

Trudeau says the government will pay for 87 million shots to be distributed to poor countries

Premier John Horgan speaks as provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry, right, and health minister Adrian Dix look on during a press conference to update on the province’s fall pandemic preparedness plan during a press conference from the press theatre at Legislature in Victoria, Wednesday, Sept. 9, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
B.C. officials to provide details on Step 2 of COVID reopening plan Monday

Step 2 could allow for larger gatherings and a resumption of recreational travel

Indigenous Services Minister Marc Miller is seen during a news conference, Wednesday May 19, 2021 in Ottawa. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Indigenous child-welfare battle heads to court despite calls for Ottawa to drop cases

Feds are poised to argue against two Canadian Human Rights Tribunal rulings

The Great Ogopogo Bathtub Race has been held in Summerland as a fundraising event. Do you know which Canadian city introduced this sport? (Black Press file photo)
QUIZ: A summer’s day at the water

How much do you know about boats, lakes and water?

Two-year-old Ivy McLeod laughs while playing with Lucky the puppy outside their Chilliwack home on Thursday, June 10, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
VIDEO: B.C. family finds ‘perfect’ puppy with limb difference for 2-year-old Ivy

Ivy has special bond with Lucky the puppy who was also born with limb difference

A million-dollar ticket was sold to an individual in Vernon from the Lotto Max draw Friday, June 11, 2021. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lottery ticket worth $1 million sold in Vernon

One lucky individual holds one of 20 tickets worth $1 million from Friday’s Lotto Max draw

“65 years, I’ve carried the stories in my mind and live it every day,” says Jack Kruger. (Athena Bonneau)
‘Maybe this time they will listen’: Survivor shares stories from B.C. residential school

Jack Kruger, living in Syilx territory, wasn’t surprised by news of 215 children’s remains found on the grounds of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School

A logging truck carries its load down the Elaho Valley near in Squamish, B.C. in this file photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chuck Stoody
Squamish Nation calls for old-growth logging moratorium in its territory

The nation says 44% of old-growth forests in its 6,900-square kilometre territory are protected while the rest remain at risk

Most Read