Nathan Matthew elected as Chief of Simpcw First Nation

Chief Nathan Matthew

Chief Nathan Matthew

Simpcw First Nation announced last week that Nathan Matthew was elected as Chief in a by-election held on May 8, 2011.

Results of the election and the number of votes each candidate received are were as follows:

• Natn Matthew 91

• Mona Jules 34

• Larry Lampreau 20

• Greg Eustache 13

Nathan Matthew replaces former Chief Keith Matthew who resigned in December of 2010.

Nathan Matthew has previously served on the Simpcw First Nation Council for 20 years, of which 17 years was as Chief. Matthew’s current term will expire in May of 2012.

Acting Chief Fred Fortier officiated from December 2010 until the recent election.