More Heritage Shows next year

BC Heritage Qualifier Horse Show

A rider competes during the BC Heritage Qulaifier Show held in Barriere on Aug. 13.

A rider competes during the BC Heritage Qulaifier Show held in Barriere on Aug. 13.

Thirty-five entrants took part in the Aug. 13, BC Heritage Qualifier Horse Show held at the Fall Fair grounds in Barriere.  Competitors attended from 100 Mile House, Salmon Arm, Kamloops, Chase, Clearwater and Barriere.

Darcey Woods, organizer of the event said, “I have a great bunch of volunteers that have been working with me on these shows. I am planning on having at least four here next year, starting in May. Anyone interested in being involved as a competitor, volunteer or sponsor should contact me.”

Woods can be reached at 250-318-9975 or by emailing:

The BC Heritage Qualifier Horse Shows are qualifiers for the BC Heritage Finals – and that event is the selection point for Team BC who will attend the Canadian Equestrian Championships.

Woods also advised that equestrians who are high school students should go to the Horse Council of BC website ( and look at the information for the Athletic Excellence Awards, and Rider Development Program for High School Credits.

“These programs recognize students for their involvement with horses as the athletic sport that it truly is, and work to develop the strength and versatility of horse and rider through the Heritage Circuit, and Rider Development Program,” said Woods.

Here is the list of Hi Point Award winners at the Aug. 13 BC Heritage Qualifier Show:

Green High Point: Sherry Hughf and Ima Illusion; Runners Up: Chantal Holt and Jeepers Junior, Sandi Murdoch and CM Sweet Caroline

Novice High Point: Nicolle Dupont and Sheza Major Madonna; Runner Up: Barry Davies and Little Bit of Toy Boy

Junior High Point: Hailey Blattler and Foolish Attraction; Runner Up: Elizabeth Elliott and Maximillian

Youth High Point: Kaitlan Chantler and Penny; Runner Up: Katie Elliott and Davey’s Girl

Senior High Point: Cory Gerlib and Ima Smooth Somebody; Runner Up: Stephanie D’Aoust and RHL Zans Leo Otoe



Just Posted

File photo
BREAKING: Fuel tanker fire closes Highway 24

Emergency crews are on scene on Highway 24 at Cartwright Road.

Residents line up outside the Vernon Recreation Complex for their COVID-19 vaccine Saturday, June 5. (Jennifer Smith - Morning Star)
No appointments necessary for first dose COVID-19 vaccine: Interior Health

People can just show up at clinics, register on the spot and get the shot

(TNRD Library)
Let the mystery of the Summer Reading Club begin

Are you ready to ‘Crack the Case’ at the Barriere Library?

(Metro Creative photo)
Gardeners of all ages invited to enter 2021 NT Fall Fair contests

The North Thompson Fall Fair Drive Thru scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 4,… Continue reading

Milsom Lodge was built in the East Barriere Valley when the Milsom brothers purchased two parcels of land in 1911, DL 2323 and DL2324. (Milsom’s photo)
The Milsom Lodge: The mansion, the ballroom, the history

“At the turn of the century, when so many families were leaving… Continue reading

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau participates in a plenary session at the G7 Summit in Carbis Bay, England on Friday June 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Canada donating 13M surplus COVID-19 vaccine doses to poor countries

Trudeau says the government will pay for 87 million shots to be distributed to poor countries

Indigenous Services Minister Marc Miller is seen during a news conference, Wednesday May 19, 2021 in Ottawa. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Indigenous child-welfare battle heads to court despite calls for Ottawa to drop cases

Feds are poised to argue against two Canadian Human Rights Tribunal rulings

The Great Ogopogo Bathtub Race has been held in Summerland as a fundraising event. Do you know which Canadian city introduced this sport? (Black Press file photo)
QUIZ: A summer’s day at the water

How much do you know about boats, lakes and water?

Two-year-old Ivy McLeod laughs while playing with Lucky the puppy outside their Chilliwack home on Thursday, June 10, 2021. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress)
VIDEO: B.C. family finds ‘perfect’ puppy with limb difference for 2-year-old Ivy

Ivy has special bond with Lucky the puppy who was also born with limb difference

A million-dollar ticket was sold to an individual in Vernon from the Lotto Max draw Friday, June 11, 2021. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lottery ticket worth $1 million sold in Vernon

One lucky individual holds one of 20 tickets worth $1 million from Friday’s Lotto Max draw

“65 years, I’ve carried the stories in my mind and live it every day,” says Jack Kruger. (Athena Bonneau)
‘Maybe this time they will listen’: Survivor shares stories from B.C. residential school

Jack Kruger, living in Syilx territory, wasn’t surprised by news of 215 children’s remains found on the grounds of the former Kamloops Indian Residential School

A logging truck carries its load down the Elaho Valley near in Squamish, B.C. in this file photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chuck Stoody
Squamish Nation calls for old-growth logging moratorium in its territory

The nation says 44% of old-growth forests in its 6,900-square kilometre territory are protected while the rest remain at risk

Flowers and cards are left at a makeshift memorial at a monument outside the former Kamloops Indian Residential School to honour the 215 children whose remains are believed to have been discovered buried near the city in Kamloops, B.C., on Monday, May 31, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
‘Pick a Sunday:’ Indigenous leaders ask Catholics to stay home, push for apology

Indigenous leaders are calling on Catholics to stand in solidarity with residential school survivors by not attending church services

Most Read